Twice Baked Sweet Potato Skins

Ok I lied. I only baked them once because I am a big lover of the microwave at the moment. Don’t judge, its quick and I like to think it uses less electricity…

It doesn’t really matter though because they still tasted like sweet bowls of amazingess.

I’m sure you have all come across potato skins before, however they are likely “cook from frozen”, covered in plastic cheese and bacon pieces. My potato skins are healthier, yummier and not covered in bacon pieces. Plus as you know, I am a big fan of sweet potatoes, especially in the form of wedges. Saying that, you could just as easily use a regular joe potato and I am sure these will taste just as good.

You can pretty much put anything you like on these, but mine are sour cream and chive, with spinach and lots of bubbly melty cheese.

You will need:

  • Sweet potato
  • Spring onion
  • 1 clove of galric
  • handfull of spinach
  • 2 tablespoons of sour cream/ greek yoghurt
  • lots of cheeeeeeeese

1) Bake your tatty! Or cheat and microwave it for 10 mins. Sweet potato skins are more sugary and harder to crisp up, so it doesn’t actually make much difference if its baked or zapped in the microwave. Once it is cooked, leave it so it is cool enough to handle, then cut it in half and scoop out all of its mushy insides. Be careful to leave the skin in tact so that you can refill it later and make your potato whole again.

2) Fry off your spring onion, garlic and spinach before adding your potato squidge for a few minutes. Then pop it all in a bowl and mix in the sour cream.

 

 

 

3) Now all you need to do is refill the skins with your mix and top them with cheese. Put them in the oven at about 200 degrees for 15 minutes.

 

Other ideas for potato stuffings could be:

  • Brie and cranberry (and bacon if you eat it)
  • Greek style- feta, tomatoes and olives
  • Pizza style- Mozzarella and tomato
  • Hawaiian- Cheese and pineapple
  • Cheese. Just lots and lots of cheese.

In my hungover state that is all I can think of right now… But please send me all your ideas! These are so easy and quick I think I will be cooking them a lot more often!

3 thoughts on “Twice Baked Sweet Potato Skins

  1. Im LOVING this idea!! I’m a fan of sweet potatoes too–super healthy things, but even better, super tasty. Will try this one soon… I’ve just done a sweet potato salad on mine, check it out!

Leave a Reply

