Vegan- Day 2

Today was fine, I kept all strange vegan bars at arms lengh and tucked into some peanut butter toast. Peanut butter is up there in my top 5 favourite foods of all time so my day was always going to be at least slightly good.

I have also realised that I probably eat vegan more often than I think. I had baked beans in a toasted wrap for lunch; vegan but nothing out of the ordinary. Then a dinner of gnocchi, courgette, aubergine, chickpeas and pine nuts was cooked by the lovely Louey and I can’t wait to cook it again! I usually like to have a sauce with gnocchi, and it is often something cheesy, but this recipe was sauceless and tasted amazingggggg.

What’s more is that it’s an all in one dish, so less washing up.

The special thing about this meal is that the gnocchi is roasted! I won’t lie to you, when Lou first mentioned roasting it I was a little skeptical. Baked gnocchi? What?! But it is so good.

I’ll share her special recipe with you so you may try it yourself.

You will need:

  • 2 courgettes cut into batons
  • 1 sliced aubergine
  • 2 onions in quarters
  • 1 pack of vegan safe gnocchi
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 3 glugs of oil
  • salt
  • 2 tsp chilli powder
  • 100g pine nuts

.Set the ovan to 200 degrees and put the oil in a large baking pan. Throw all the veg in the pan with the ghochi and the chickpeas, then season with salt and chilli powder.

.Roast for 40 mins

.Add the pine nutes and roast for another 10 mins

.Then it is ready to serve.

Vegan has never been so easy or tasted so good. Thank you Lou! Hopefully tomorrow will feel as normal, maybe peanut butter and roast gnocchi is the key!

Leave a Reply

