Vegan Week Concludes

All week we have turned down tea with biscuits, exploited all soya imitations of anything creamy, and become crazed chocolate deprived women.

Today everything changed. Cheese was allowed back in our lives and we welcome it with open arms and pasta.  In my mind the only thing to do was make the cheesiest yummiest thing I could think of; Lasagne! Below is my recipe sent to me by my lovely mother, but before I share that I want to share my full conclusion of veganism.

1) I have learned vegan food is still delicious. All week we cooked a different tasting and fantastic tasting meal. I have tried different flavour combinations and instead of automatically adding cheese or mayo to my food, I have thought about adding spices, citrus and fresh flavours. I will make sure I do this more often!

2) I have learned that egg and milk are in so many products!!  Which sort of freaks me out… Crisps, biscuits, Quorn and nearly all processed foods contain them, but they are hiding from you, sniggering away as you eat them unknowingly. I am a big believer in organic and free range and am always willing to pay extra for organic milk and free range eggs, but what if the eggs in my crisps are not free range? This completely undermines me and makes my “green hippy warrior mission” a massive fraud, therefore in the future I will be looking into where ingredients come from! We depend on animals so much more than I thought.

3) Challenges are much better faced in a team. When I first made the suggestion of vegan week, I didn’t expect anyone else to jump on the band wagon but I am so glad they did! Having someone to moan with and share the cravings with made everything much more bearable! Go girl power. It has also been quite fun. Thank you girls for all the lovely meals!

Yesterday Bridget made her own falafel and they were possibly the best I have ever eaten! It made me want to make them myself from now on. They were so good I didn’t even feel the need to smother them in mayonaise, which is my usual trick. She also made potato wedges and a crunchy apple and cucumber salad, a proper vegan treat.

All in all, I will not be becoming a fully fledged vegan, however I will make a big effort to make sure everything I eat is from a happy animal. Let me know if you are vegan! I’d love to know why and how you commit to a vegan diet.

Now for something definitely not vegan: Roasted Vegetable Lasagne. cheeeeeeeeeese.

You will need:

  • 1 Aubergine
  • 1 Courgette
  • Button mushrooms
  • 1 red pepper
  • 150g baby tomatos
  • 2 red onions
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 pack of lasagne
  • 200g grated mozzarella
  • Spinach

For the cheese sauce:

  • 30g flour
  • 40g butter
  • 1 pint milk
  • 1 teaspoon mustard
  • 200g grated cheddar

1) Chop up all of your veg and pop them in a roasting pan with lots of oil. Pop them in the oven at 200 degrees for around 35 mins.

2) While the veg is roasting, cook the sauce. Make a roux by melting the butter into the flour until it makes a thick paste. Then add the milk and bring it to the boil while whisking. It will take some time, but it will thicken into a lovely gloopy sauce. Then turn down the heat and mix in the cheddar cheese and mustard. You can’t really taste the mustard, but it makes a richer sauce and brings out the cheesiness.

loading...

3) pour on some of the cheese sauce into a dish, then layer up some roasted veg, spinach, mozzarella then pasta sheet. Repeat this and finish with a topping of more cheese sauce and mozzarella.

4) Bake in the oven at 180 degrees for 30-35 mins.

It was just what I needed for a slight hangover and a cheese deprived belly.

If you are wondering how I did the animated Instagram type stirry thing, it is this new cool app I have found! I will do a post on it soon and tell you all about it.

Thanks for watching and taking an interest in vegan week!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Week Concludes

  1. I’m not a vegetarian but I try to eat a diet as free from processed food as possible. However, the need for sugary snacks and bread has been high recently! Think your experiences will help to put me back on track!!

    Love the moving pictures, so Harry Potter. :)

  2. Well done!

    As for chocolate cravings, well you’re talking to the wrong guy here, though I do like my Very Naughty Cherries

    And it gives me a bit more room for manoeuvre on messingaboutinthekitchen.wordprees.com
    Thanks for following me; I like the thought that at least someone is reading my deranged ramblings
    Though here’s something odd. I’ve been running it for a few weeks now, and I don’t think I’ve posted a single meat based recipe. I think the only cheese was in the fishfinger sandwich

Leave a Reply

