Christmas Time

Merry Christmas everyone!! Hope you are having a great boxing day! I recommend you watch ‘how to train your dragon’ on BBC 1 at 5, it is a really good film.

The way I see it, Christmas is about eating drinking and spending time with family, so rinse that excuse for all it is worth!

Christmas dinner is one of the best things ever invented, and it is all about the trimmings for me. Clap-shot, red cabbage, sprouts, roast tats, stuffing (veggie) and lotttssssss of gravy. I have my own gravy jug, not kidding.

This year I made mushroom, spinach and stilton wellingtons! So scroll down for that recipe after I bombard you with photos.

I would have made more of an appearence in them, but on Christmas Eve my face decided to swell up, go red and genrally disfigure itself due to an allergic reaction to not sure what, so you can look at sprouts instead they’re probably prettier.

Christmas- The Vegaquarium

We kicked off the day with Champagne and scrambled eggs. Dad gave mum her present, a Mulberry purse, and I have never seen such an amazing reaction it’s priceless!

 

The anual Bagatelle tournament took place, it is basically old school pinball, and for the first time I ranked in the top 3!

Christmas- The Vegaquarium

Christmas- The Vegaquarium
Bagatelle and intense concentration
Papa carving the chicken
Papa carving the chicken
The odd squad at the christmas table
The odd squad at the christmas table

Now for my recipe. Mushroom, spinach and stilton wellington, and I really like the word ‘wellington.’

If you have a fear of stilton you can put in any other cheese you like! I think it would be nice with brie and cranberry.

Mushroom, spinach and stilton wellington- The Vegaquarium

Mushroom, spinach and stilton wellington- The Vegaquarium

Makes 4 wellingtons. You will need:

  • 4 field mushrooms
  • 4 handfulls of spinach
  • 500g Puff pastry
  • Thyme
  • 1 shallot
  • 1 garlic clove
  • pine-nuts
  • Stilton to taste

1) Lightly dust a surface with flout and thyme, then roll out your pastry so that it squidges up the thyme. it needs to be about 7mm thick.

2) Then fry off your mushrooms, but dont chop them up they go in whole. Set them aside to cool, and meanwhile fry up all the shallot, garlic spinach and pine nuts. Then cut out 8 large circles, they need to be big enough to cover your shrooms top and bottom.

Mushroom, spinach and stilton wellington- The Vegaquarium

3) Make a sandwich on the pastry- stilton, mushroom, more stilton, then pop another circle of pastry on top as a lid. Make an egg wash by beating up an egg in a mug and brush it over the pastry, sealing the edges and making sure no juices and cheese escape!

4) Place on a baking tray and bake in an oven at 180 degrees for 30 mins. I decorated my wellingtons, and made one into rudolf because it was christmas. I know, it doesn’t look like rudolf but humor me.

5) Eat with gravy and trimmings!!

Mushroom, spinach and stilton wellington- The Vegaquarium Mushroom, spinach and stilton wellington- The Vegaquarium

Merry christmas and have a happy new year!

Christmas Pigley

One thought on “Christmas Time

Leave a Reply

