Gluten free pug cupcakes

Pugs and cakes, you can’t really go wrong.

Gluten free pug cupcakes- The Vegaquarium

When I found out my best friend couldn’t eat gluten, we quickly had to think of an alternative to spending an evening with pizzahut cheesy bites, chocolate spread digestives and Xfactor. So I found this amazing recipe!

This christmas I thought I would make them for her with pugs on them, because she is a pug fanatic!

Watch out though celiacs, dont think that just because they are gluten free that they are all yours, these will be eaten by everyone.

Although they use almonds, this just makes them extra moist and squishy. Trust me, if you hate nuts it doesn’t mean you’ll dislike these, I have fooled people before. (They didn’t just have a nut allergy that would be a bit mean.)

Gluten free pug cupcakes- The VegaquariumYou will need:

  • 200g Ground almonds
  • 6 tbsp sift cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp gluten free baking powder
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

1) Set the oven to 180 and line a bun tin with cases. I used union jack ones because the Queen is pretty cool.

2) Whisk up the eggs and sugar in a large bowl until pale and moussey. This will take about 4 mins.

3) Fold in the almonds, sifted cocoa powder, oil, vanilla and baking powder.

4) Then simply bake for 20-25 mins until firm

Decoration

I bought these sugar paper pugs off of amazon, they arrived quickly and looked pretty cute. But if pugs are not your thing, get cat ones. Or anything else… But I recommend cat ones. Then send me one.

Whisk up a butter cream from:

  • 100g Icing sugar
  • 50g butter
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Then use this as a sweet glue for your sugar paper!

For any other celiacs out there, I really recommend this blog: Gluten is my Bitch. It is funny and full of amazing recipes and celiac problems!

Gluten free pug cupcakes- The Vegaquarium

 

(Source: http://llifeswhatyoumakeit.tumblr.com)
4 thoughts on “Gluten free pug cupcakes

    1. Ah thank you! Yes they’ve started doing that here now! Polly’s tried them and said they were really good so I will have to join her next time. Hope everything’s good over there!

Leave a Reply

