Spicy Sweetcorn Fritters

I had never made a fritter before, but I liked the word! And I liked the taste, over all a win.

If you are like me and eat straight sweetcorn out the tin, restrain, and make these instead it’s worth it!

Spicy Sweetcorn Fritters- The Vegaquarium

I would have had them with halloumi cheese and avocado, but I was lacking in halloumi and my avocado wasn’t ripe, so I settled for garlic mayo and sweet chilli sauce.

Which brings me to this request: could someone please invent an instant fruit ripener? Thanks.

They only take about 4 mins to cook, are both crispy and squishy at the same time, and have a bit of a kick!

You will need:

  • 300g sweetcorn
  • 75g plain flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 pint milk (I used soya and it worked just as well)
  •  1/2 red onion chopped
  • 1 clove crushed garlic
  • 1 tbs fajita mix
  • 1 tsp paprika

1) Whisk together the flour, egg, milk and spices into a smooth batter in a bowl. Then add the sweetcorn, garlic and onion into the batter and mix it all together.

2) Heat up about 2 tbs of olive oil in a pan, then spoon in the mixture into the oil, you can usually fot about 3 good sized fritters in one pan.

20130131-111158-PM.jpg

3) When they have crisped up on one side, flip them over and crisp up the other side. They are a bit like cooking pancakes.

4) Serve with a dip! If you eat meat apparently they go well with bacon. I reckon they would also be nice dipped into a fried egg with beans.

Spicy Sweetcorn Fritters- The Vegaquarium

Leave a Reply

